The Drum Awards for Marketing - Entry Deadline

-d -h -min -sec

Marketing Brand Strategy WFA Global Marketer of the Year

Are you The Drum and WFA’s next Global Marketer of the Year?


By Jennifer Faull | Deputy Editor

August 31, 2023 | 4 min read

Nominations are now open for The Drum and World Federation of Advertisers’ annual Global Marketer of the Year award.


The Drum and the WFA have begun the search for the next Global Marketer of the Year

The Drum and the World Federation of Advertisers (WFA) have partnered for a sixth year to celebrate the industry’s best marketers.

The coveted award recognizes the work of global and regional marketers, putting a spotlight on the executives who are making a difference by inspiring their teams and adapting effectively to new ways of working and living while also creating brand strategies that positively impact society and their companies.

Those nominated should demonstrate outstanding leadership in two or more of the following four areas:

  • Driving initiatives that contribute toward sustainable business growth/practices
  • Optimizing their global marketing organization, including working more effectively with partners
  • Delivering stand-out innovation and creative effectiveness
  • Playing an industry leadership role, for example, around furthering the Diversity & Inclusion agenda

They should also have worked for their current employer for two years or more.

Nominations can be made through the WFA website. The deadline for nominations is October 11, 2023.

Nominations will be considered by the expert jury, with those shortlisted being profiled by The Drum and on the WFA’s website later in the year.

The winner will be decided by combining public voting by the industry and the expert jury verdict, with each counting for half of the final score. The winner will be announced in January 2024.

“Amid unprecedented and increasingly complex challenges brands have been facing, today’s marketer needs to be collaborative, innovative and mindful of their role in driving sustainable growth for the benefit of shareholders, partners and people,” said Stephan Loerke, CEO of WFA.

“We’ve had exceptional leaders named Global Marketer of the Year since 2017, and we look forward to celebrating global and regional marketers who have been making a huge impact on their company, our industry and marketing’s reputation over the last 12 months.”

The inaugural Global Marketer of the Year was won in 2017 by Keith Weed, Unilever’s then-chief marketing and communications officer. He was followed by Raja Rajamannar in 2018 and by Lubomira Rochet, then chief digital officer at L’Oréal in 2019. In 2020, the award was won by Marc Pritchard, chief brand officer at Procter & Gamble, followed by Conny Braams, chief digital and commercial officer at Unilever, in 2021. Last year, the Global Marketer of the Year Award went to Cristina Diezhandino, chief marketing officer of Diageo.

Marketing Brand Strategy WFA Global Marketer of the Year

More from Marketing

View all


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +