Agency: DDB
Client: KFC
Date: Jun 2020
Your Vote
Overall Rating
Opps, please vote again
8 votes

KFC has launched a 86-track playlist in Malaysia to encourage customers to come back to its stores as Covid-19 pandemic lockdown restrictions lift in the country.

Malaysia lifted its lockdown called ‘Conditional Movement Control Order’ on 9 June and entered a ‘Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO) phase’ to reopen the economy in stages that will last between 10 June and 31 August.

The playlist, titled ‘KFC You Soon’ and created by Naga DDB Tribal, has 86 songs to commemorate each day the dine-in service was unavailable in KFC stores in Malaysia. The trilingual playlist aims to tell customers how much the brand has missed them.

To promote the playlist, a dedication video was launched and features a lonely KFC store pining for the return of its customers, serenading the viewer with popular song lyrics that convey its yearning.

“Over the past few months, restaurants have generally been quiet and lonely. If the tables, chairs, trays and sauce dispensers could speak, they would probably tell people how much they’ve been longing for their presence,” explain Jeremy Yeoh and Suryadipura Salleh, creative directors at Naga DDB Tribal

“As KFC reopens its stores for dine-In across the country, the team came up with the idea of serenading people back through song instead of doing the regular announcement.”


Naga DDB Tribal

Chief Creative Officer: Alvin Teoh

Creative Director: Suryadipura Salleh, Jeremy Yeoh

Associate Creative Director: Rachel Hoo

Senior Copywriter: Candice Chhoa

Copywriter: Peh Xin Ying

Art Director: Bobby Lai, Sara Chong

BM Copywriter: Zhafirry Fenner Zakaria

Head of AV: Sharon de Silva

AV Producer: Lee Boon Hsin

Business Unit Head: RZ Chew

Senior Account Manager: Brian Khoo

Account Manager: Dalina Annuar

Project Manager: Victoria Lim

Production House : Reservoir World Sdn Bhd

Film Director : Quek Shio Chuan

Producers : Kaviraj Ganayson & Chow Chun Son

Cinematography : Kai Lau

Post Production : Dixon Yoong

Color Grade : Setyo Wib

Music & Audio : Raof Zamirdin