How to disable Google ads from tracking your personal information

Disable Google ad tracking

In June, Google backtracked on its promise to not use personally identifiable information when tracking users. This includes information from Gmail, YouTube, and other Google accounts. All information form these accounts is now combined with your web browsing history, making Google ads more targeted to you.

Follow our step by step guide to disable this tracking from Google.

Before you start, make sure you are logged in to your Google account.

Step 1) My account

Once logged in to your Google account, head over to the account activity page. On the account activity page:-

  • Locate the 'Personal info & privacy' card.
  • Within this card, locate the 'My Activity' box.
  • Click 'Go To My Activity'.

Step 2) Activity controls

On the activity controls page, in the left hand menu, click on the 'activity controls' link.

Step 3) Disable data sharing

Once you're on the activity controls page, untick the checkbox labeled 'Include Chrome browsing history and activity from websites and apps that use Google services'.

If you followed the steps correctly, Google should no longer be using your personal web activity to target ads to you.

If you're looking for more step by step guides, check out our Marketing guides page.

Search The Drum Jobs

Explore the best jobs in Marketing and Media industries
View all open jobs