The Drum Awards Festival - Official Deadline

-d -h -min -sec

The Drum Awards Momentum Recruitment

Instagram and Momentum Worldwide recognised with top award wins at The Majors 2017


By The Drum, Editorial

October 20, 2017 | 4 min read

Sponsored by:

What's this?

Sponsored content is created for and in partnership with an advertiser and produced by the Drum Studios team.

Find out more

Instagram and Momentum Worldwide carried off the top awards of the night at this year’s The Majors, the awards hosted annually by recruitment agency Major Players, in association with The Drum, to recognise excellence in tech, digital and creative.

The Majors

Instagram collecting their Major award at last night's event

Social media giant Instagram was crowned Major Brand of the Year, while Momentum Worldwide collected the Major Agency trophy for the second consecutive year in front of a crowd of more than 160 people.

Elsewhere, Felix Morgan of Livity was named as the Major Marketer and Stu the Copywriter as the Major Freelancer.

With diversity high on the agenda across the media and marketing industry, a new award - Major Diversity Champion - was introduced this year and was won by Richard Robinson of Oystercatchers for work he has done in roles such as vice-chair & trustee of The Ideas Foundation; Board member of both Creative Equals & Token Man, the first male Supermoma for SheSays and, regular Mentor for NABS, Magnificent Generation and WhosYourMomma.

The Majors

Now in their third year, the awards event took place at the Covent Garden offices of Major Players, with winners gathering to collect their gongs, which were judged by Wayne Deakin, executive creative director at AKQA; Denise Kutzer, chief marketing officers at Converse; Nishma Robb, chief marketing officer at Google; Tom Bayliss, client services director at Poke; Becky McOwen-Banks, creative director of FCB Inferno; Jane Austin, director of design and user experience at Moo; Matt Gee, head of digital transformation at Isobar; Victoria Buchanan, executive creative director at Tribal DDB; Frederico Roberto, creative director at VML; Tom Ollerton, innovation director at We Are Social; John Shield, director of communications at BBC; Leila Fataar, head of culture and entertainment at Diageo Europe; Gareth Barker, director of consumer marketing at UKTV; James Cuff, head of SEO, content and social media at; Jonathan Trimble, chief executive officer at 18 Feet & Rising; Ali Hanan, chief executive officer at Creative Equals; Casey Bird, president at SheSays; Mark Webb, head of group social media at Dixons Carphone and Christine Morgan, director of PR at Debenhams.

Speaking of the awards, Allison Upton, marketing director at Major Players, said: “There are many awards for businesses, but few that recognise the talents of the individual. We wanted to create something that supports and highlights the people behind the scenes that have played a demonstrable role in creating a great campaign or piece of work as well as the companies and brands.”

The full list of this year's winners can be viewed below:

Major Creative

Artur Deyneuve

Major PR

Philip Dorward - Just Eat

Major Designer

Sanj Sahota

Major Freelancer

Stu the copywriter

Major Marketer

Felix Morgan - Livity

Major Interactive Campaign

SEEN Connects

Major Social Media Campaign

Publicis London

Major Innovation


Major Influencer Campaign

Urban Nerds

Major Brand


Major Diversity Champion

Richard Robinson - Oystercatchers

Major Agency


The Drum Awards Momentum Recruitment

More from The Drum Awards

View all


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +