Channel 4 takes home Channel of the Year award at Edinburgh TV Festival

Channel 4 has been crowned Channel of the Year at the Edinburgh International Television Festival.


Hosted this evening (Thursday 25 August) by comedian, writer and presenter Katherine Ryan, the BBC, Kudos and "Carpool Karaoke" also took home gongs.

Peter Kay’s "Car Share" won New Programme of the Year and Adele’s Nicki Minaj rap, featured on "The Late Late Show" Carpool Karaoke, took home TV Moment of the Year.

Festival director, Lisa Campbell, congratulated this year’s winners and said: “This year’s competition was tough, but it is a testament to the quality of not only the series produced, but the people, their creativity, passion and determination that makes the decision so hard.

“We were also delighted to open up entires to our international counterparts in our New Programme of the Year category, and introduce Best International Co-Production. Another great year in global TV, we look forward to the next.”

Other winners included "Reggie Yates’ Extreme Russia" which scooped Factual Programme of the Year and Sally Wainwright who won this year’s Outstanding Achievement Award.

A full list of winners can be viewed below:

Edinburgh TV Awards Winners 2016

The C21Media Channel of the Year Award

Channel 4

Production Company of the Year


New Programme of the Year

"Peter Kay’s Car Share" (BBC One, Goodnight Vienna Productions)

Best International Co-Production

"The Last Panthers" (Haut et Court TV and Warp Films)

Factual Programme of the Year sponsored by ITN Source

"Reggie Yates’ Extreme Russia" (BBC Three, Sundog Pictures)

Outstanding Achievement Award

British television writer and playwright Sally Wainwright

TV Moment of the Year

As voted for by delegates exclusively via the Festival app.

Adele rapping to Nicki Minaj’s verse on Kanye’s Monster on Carpool Karaoke

Talent Schemes Programme Choice Award

"American Crime Story: The People Vs OJ Simpson" – as voted for by the Talent Schemes Delegates

Random Acts Live Pitch Award

Awarded by Channel 4 to one of the TV Festival’s Talent Schemes Delegates, the winner is: Symeon Brown

Join us, it's free.

Become a member to get access to:

  • Exclusive Content
  • Daily and specialised newsletters
  • Research and analysis

Join us, it’s free.

Want to read this article and others just like it? All you need to do is become a member of The Drum. Basic membership is quick, free and you will be able to receive daily news updates.