The Drum Awards Festival - Official Deadline

-d -h -min -sec

Online Media Awards to be supported by NUJ and Press Association


By The Drum Team, Editorial

February 15, 2012 | 2 min read

The Online Media Awards, which seek to identify the cleverest, boldest and most original purveyors of news and views from around the world, are now open for entries.

Supported by the Press Association and the NUJ, the aim of the awards is to recognise the best application of talent and technology online.

Online Media Awards director Lynn Lester said: "In our ever changing media landscape, media owners have had to adapt very quickly to the ways in which they disseminate editorial content to their audiences. The constant hard work that goes on behind the scenes is often taken for granted and that is why these awards are important – to give teams and individuals the credit they so richly deserve.

Our judges are looking to award those sites that are the most thought provoking, engaging and well written from across the world. You don’t need to be big to win; you just have to be the best.”

Last year's winners included The Guardian, Mashable, The Huffington Post, Press Gazette and the Sunday Times.

Categories cover all areas of media including: best site for news-led journalism, best specialist site for journalism, best use of social media, online editor of the year, digital writer of the year and new for 2012 - best local/regional news site.

The awards are open to media owners, online publishers and editors. Entries can be made at and the deadline is Friday 23rd March.

For more information contact Katy Thomson - - or follow @pressawards on Twitter.


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +