Scottish Design Awards nominations

By The Drum, Administrator

March 9, 2006 | 2 min read

A sample of the work on display at the exhibition.

Judging of the design entries took place on 8 February at the Crowne Plaza in Glasgow and was chaired by Checkland Kindleyside’s founder, Jeff Kindleysides. He was joined by NB Studio's Alan Dye, Graham Shearsby of Design Bridge, Alison Tomlin of Carter Wong Tomlin, Alex Maclean of Airside, Richard Buchanan of Corporate Edge and Keren House from Aricot Vert.

The nominations were announced this week in an exhibition at Glasgow’s newly revamped City Halls in the Merchant City, to reveal who would be in contention for the prizes on 26 May at the Gala Awards Dinner.

This year - the ninth Scottish Design Awards - the nominations for Designer and Young Designer of the Year were also announced at the exhibition. In the Young Designer Category there were two nominations – Oskar Kron of Third Eye Design and David Coyle from D8. While in the Designer of the Year Category, seven nominations were received for Graham Scott (Nevis), Lucy Richards (Studio LR), Kenny Allan (Third Eye), Adrian Carroll (D8), Graham Sturzaker (Elmwood), Stuart Gilmour (Stand) and Daniel Ibbotson (Graphical House).

For a full rundown of nominations, including the CD ROM, website, product and exhibition categories, go to the "Events" section at For tickets or more information on the awards, contact Emma Neilson on 0141 352 4687 or


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +