Discover client recommended agencies

Group Nine integrates Popsugar execs following acquisition

Group Nine integrates Popsugar execs following acquisition

Digital media brand Group Nine has reshuffled its exec team after snapping up Popsugar earlier this month.

The drive will integrate "key members" of the Popsugar team into the Group Nine operation. Brian Sugar will be named president of Group Nine. Lisa Sugar will continue as president of the Popsugar brand with the deal is expected to close in the coming weeks.

Ben Lerer, Group Nine chief executive of the combined group, said: "The combined leadership team will draw on the incredible talents and complementary strengths of both companies.

"We’re very confident that this will be one of the strongest executive teams in the industry, and we’re incredibly fortunate to have this level of experience on the team as we enter this next important phase of growth,” he said.

Certain roles have been expanded to cover the full group, this includes group chief financial officer Sean Macnew; chief brand officer Suzanne Kolb; chief revenue officer, Geoff Schiller; chief people officer Annie Trombatore; and chief comms officer April Mellody. Chris George, currently executive vice-president of product marketing and sales strategy at Popsugar is to become chief operating officer for Group Nine.

Group Nine, the US-based video publisher, boasts brands including The Dodo, Thrillist, NowThis, and Seeker.

It came together in 2016 with backing from Discovery.

By continuing to use The Drum, I accept the use of cookies as per The Drum's privacy policy