Read our new manifesto

The Drum and World Federation of Advertisers begin hunt for the Global Marketer of the Year

The Drum and the World Federation of Advertisers (WFA) have once again joined forces to find the Global Marketer of the Year

Entry Deadline extended to 1 November. To nominate click here.

The Drum and the World Federation of Advertisers (WFA) have once again joined forces to find the Global Marketer of the Year.

The accolade was last year awarded to Mastercard chief marketing and communications officer Raja Rajamannar.

The award looks to highlight the role that regional and global marketers play in setting the course of the industry. It also provides a spotlight for those executives who are transforming the marketing landscape by inspiring their teams, both internal and external and creating brand strategies that make a difference to society, as well as delivering better business results for the companies they work for.

Nominations will be sought from the wider marketing industry as well from an expert jury of global marketers and industry experts chaired by Rajamannar, who is also the new WFA president.

“Last year, The Drum’s readers helped name Mastercard’s highly-influential chief marketing and communications officer Raja Rajamannar as the WFA’s Global Marketer of the Year, an accolade he has more than lived up to since, launching many innovative initiatives for his brand,” said Stephen Lepitak, editor of The Drum.

“In 2020 our readers will be looking for a marketer with a similar level of foresight on big industry trends and business opportunities and I look forward to the team at The Drum being a key part of the selection process.”

The Drum will profile each of the finalist nominees as part of its coverage. Last year this included P&G’s Mark Pritchard, Unilever’s Keith Weed, Coty’s Ukonwa Ojo, Diageo’s Syl Saller, and Ikea’s Claudia Willvonseder in addition to Rajamannar.

“The difference that great marketing leadership brings is clear in every market but it’s particularly vital at a regional and global level,” added Stephan Loerke, chief executive of WFA.

“Once again we want to celebrate this ability to provide a huge boost to their businesses, our industry and society. I’m delighted that the third Global Marketer of the Year award is now open so that we can find out more about the amazing work the very best in our industry are undertaking. It will be hugely inspiring.”

As with the 2017 and 2018 Global Marketer of the Year, those nominated should demonstrate outstanding leadership in three key areas:

  • Evolving their organisation to be more people-centric, better able to respond to consumer needs and building happier, more engaged teams internally;
  • Working smarter with partners, be they agencies or vendors, and ensuring that the whole team is aligned to the same goals;
  • Delivering inspiring work that genuinely makes a difference, be that cultural, social or for the business.

They should also have been working for their current employer for two years or more.

Nominations can be made through the website or sent to

The deadline for nominations is 25 October.

Nominations will be considered by the expert jury in November.

The winner will be decided by a combination of WFA member votes, industry votes and the expert jury verdict, with each counting for a third of the final score. The winner will be announced in January 2020.

Join us, it's free.

Become a member to get access to:

  • Exclusive Content
  • Daily and specialised newsletters
  • Research and analysis