Read our new manifesto

Explore our new sections and topics

The Big Won: world's most award-winning creatives revealed

David Lubars has been named the most-awarded chief creative officer in 2018 in The Big Won rankings

BBDO New York's David Lubars and Greg Hahn, along with Sean Bryan and Tom Murphy of McCann New York, have been named the most award-winning chief creative officers of 2018 in The Big Won rankings.

The annual study analyses data from the world's major industry competitions – including D&AD, Cannes Lions, the Clios, The Drum Awards and more – to determine the most successful companies and creatives in advertising.

The research encompasses 3,607 pieces of work from 1,721 agencies and involved 647 chief creative officers, 841 executive creative directors and 2,543 creative directors.

Below, you'll find the definitive ranking of the world's top chief creative officers, executive creative directors and creative officers. You can also check out the 20 ads that won the most awards in 2018 and the world's 20 most award-winning agencies.

These listings reflect the agencies that the chief creative officers, executive creative directors and creative directors were at when the campaigns were produced. For those creatives that have since moved on, we've listed their current agency also.

Most-awarded chief creative officers

1=David LubarsBBDO Worldwide
1=Greg HahnBBDO New York
3=Sean BryanMcCann New York
3=Tom MurphyMcCann New York
5Ari WeissDDB North America
6Eric SilverMcCann North America
7Joe SciarottaOgilvy USA
8Reed CollinsOgilvy North Asia
9John MaxhamDDB Chicago
10=Rob DoubalMcCann London
10=Laurence ThomsonMcCann London
12Rob BelgiovaneBWM Dentsu Sydney
13Joyce King ThomasMcCann XBC (formerly McCann New York)
14Walid KanaanTBWA\RAAD
15Damon StapletonDDB New Zealand
16Ralf HeuelGrabarz & Partner Hamburg
17Andres OrdronezEnergy BBDO
18Ant WhiteCHE Proximity
19Alexander SchillServiceplan Group
20Pete CaseOgilvy South Africa

Most-awarded executive creative directors

1Colin SelikowDDB Chicago
2=Stu TurnerVMLY&R (formerly Havas/Host)
2=Seamus HigginsHost/Havas
4Jens PfauJung Von Matt
5=Adrian RossiGrey London (formerly AMV BBDO)
5=Alex GrieveAMV BBDO
7Shane BradnickTBWA\New Zealand (formerly DDB Auckland)
8Fouad Abdel MalakTBWA\RAAD (formerly Impact BBDO)
9Tom MarkhamBBDO New York
10Asheen NaiduBWM Dentsu Sydney
11Ian MackenzieFCB/Six
12Alan KellyRothco/Accnture Interactive
13=Iain TaitWieden+Kennedy London
13=Tony DavidsonWieden+Kennedy London
15Alexander KalchevDDB Paris
16Bruno ProsperiAlmapBBDO Brazil
17Chris MittonMcCann New York
18Nir RefuahMcCann New York
19=Gianfranco ArenaBBDO New York
19=Peter KainBBDO New York
21Paul BichlerSaatchi & Saatchi New York

Top creative directors

1=Sebastian SchnellJung Von Matt/Next Alster
1=Anna LichnogJung Von Matt
3Bruno BertelliPublicis Worldwide (formerly Publicis Worldwide Western Europe)
4=Matthew NisbetOgilvy Hong Kong
4=John KoayOgilvy Hong Kong
6=Nathaniel LawlorDDB Chicago
6=Ruth BellottiDDB Chicago
8Gustavo VampreDeloitte (formerly Havas)
9Paul BootlisMacquarie Health (formerly Host/Havas Sydney)
10Mark BrukerOgilvy Chicago
11=Sanjiv MistryMcCann London
11=Jamie MietzMcCann London
13Hital PandyaOgilvy Chicago
14Kai Fung ChanOgilvy Hong Kong
15Luissandro Del GobboOgilvy Chicago
16=Jakob EcksteinGrabarz & Partner Hamburg
16=Matthias PreussGrabarz & Partner Hamburg
18Craig McintoshCossette
19Tom MurphyMcCann New York
20=Mike FelixDDB New Zealand
20=Brett ColliverDDB New Zealand

You can view the rest of of the results of The Big Won here.