New Years Honours Marketing

The Queen’s New Year’s Honours given to chiefs at Magnetic North and Blippar


By Stephen Lepitak, -

December 30, 2017 | 5 min read

The Queen’s New Year’s Honours lists has included professionals from the world of technology, PR, media and marketing including former editor-in-chief of the British edition of Vogue, Alexandra Shulman OBE being given a CBE, Magnetic North chief Lou Cordwell an OBE and Blippar co-founder Jessica Butcher receiving an MBE.

Queen’s medal

Queen’s medal

The honours, announced on Friday evening (29 December) ahead of the new year, aim to recognise the achievements of Britons and have seen Knighthoods handed to The Beatles drummer Ringo Starr and former deputy prime minister, Nick Clegg.

A number of professionals from the communications and digital sectors have also been recognised for their achievements, including the team behind the bid for Hull to be the City of Culture, broadcaster Eamonn Holmes and McKinsey & Co’s UK & Ireland managing director, Vivian Hunt.

PR consultant Lynn Franks has also received an OBE for her services to business, and fashion and woman’s empowerment while Sue Anstiss, chief executive of Promote PR, has been awarded an MBE for her services to grassroots sport and women’s sport.

Said Anstiss: “I was so surprised and incredibly humbled to receive such a prestigious award. I feel hugely honoured to be recognised in this way.

“At times like this, it’s natural to think about making your loved ones proud, so receiving this award is slightly tinged with sadness. My dad, who was the ultimate sports fan, passed away earlier this year. I know he would have been extraordinarily proud to hear that his daughter had been awarded an MBE. It’s a great tribute to a man who encouraged his daughter in sport as much as his three sons; someone who recognised ‘great sport is great sport’ whether played by men or women.”

In total 1,123 people have received an award.

Below is a selection taken from the New year’s honours list working in the communications sector.

Members of the Order of the Companions of Honour



Ms Vivian Yvonne HUNT Managing Partner, UK and Ireland, McKinsey and Company. For services to the Economy and to Women in Business.


Kenneth Aphunezi OLISA, OBE For services to Business and Philanthropy.


Ms Jacqueline DE ROJAS President, techUK. For services to International Trade in the Technology Industry.

Martin Keith GREEN Chief Executive and Director, Hull UK City of Culture 2017. For services to the Arts in Hull

Dr Demis HASSABIS Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer, DeepMind. For services to Science and Technology.

Ms Alexandra SHULMAN, OBE Lately Editor, British Vogue. For services to Fashion Journalism.

Dana Rachel Pressman, Mrs TOBAK Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Hyperoptic. For services to the Digital Economy.


Ms Francesca Elizabeth HEGYI

Executive Director, Hull City of Culture 2017. For services to Culture in Hull.

Eamonn HOLMES For services to Broadcasting.

Ms Rosemary Harriet MILLARD, Chair, Hull City of Culture 2017. For services to Culture in Hull.

Ms Vinodka MURRIA For services to the UK Digital Economy and Advancing Women in the Software Sector.


Chief Executive Officer, Magnetic North. For services to the Creative and Digital Economy.

Jonathan Peter PYWELL

City Culture and Place Manager, Hull City Council. For services to Culture.

William WARD

Chief Executive Officer and Co-founder, Clipper Round the World Yacht Race. For services to the Economy and the GREAT Campaign.



Lately Head of Diversity, PACT. For services to Diversity in the Media.

Ms Jessica Rose BUTCHER (Mrs Simpson)

Co-founder and Director, Blippar. For services to Digital Technology and Entrepreneurship.

Michael William FINNEY

Director of Advice, Admissions and Marketing, South Cheshire College. For services to Education.

Ms Linda Jane MCAULEY (Mrs Wilson) Presenter, BBC Radio Ulster. For services to Consumers in Northern Ireland.

Dr Bernard Neil PARSONS

Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer, Becrypt. For services to Digital Technology.

Ms Sabrina Alicia FRANCIS

Social Media Officer, City, University of London. For services to the University of London.

Ms Hayley Angela Rhodes NELSON

For services to Digital Inclusion in Sheffield.

Martin Richard PARRY

For services to Film, Media and Music.

Sue Anstiss, CEO of Promote PR, for services to grassroots sport and women’s sport.

New Years Honours Marketing

More from New Years Honours

View all


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +