By John McCarthy, Opinion Editor

March 27, 2015 | 2 min read

Channel 4 has launched an ad campaign with the Electoral Commission starring the cast of hit show Gogglebox who explain the importance of being registered to vote in the 2015 general election.

The 30 second ad will launch later today (27 March), during Gogglebox’s ad break at 9pm, for maximum engagement with viewers. In it Goggleboxers Scarlett, Tom, Shaun, Eve and ‘Silent’ Jay share with viewers their experiences of registering to vote and explain why it’s important to be registered to vote.

Gogglebox narrator Caroline Aherne has provided the voiceover which states: “Don’t stay silent, your vote matters – make sure you’re in, register to vote before 20 April.”

The show attracts n average of 4.9 million viewers per episode - Channel 4's largest audience in 2015.

Michael Abbott, head of campaigns at the Electoral Commission, said: “Our partnership with Gogglebox is a fantastic opportunity to reach millions of TV viewers and spread the message that the only way to have a vote at the General Election is to be on the electoral register.

“The show has a particular following amongst young people and we know that 18-24 year olds are less likely to be registered. It takes just a few minutes to fill in a form at”

Jonathan Allan, sales director, Channel 4 added: “This partnership is a great example of how clients are using Channel 4’s hugely popular programme brands in order to tap into our core audience of young viewers and deliver a very important message around active participation in the democratic process.”

The ad will run across Channel 4, E4, 4Music and All 4 for three weeks following the partnership being managed by Channel 4 Sales and Carat.

The broadcaster 4 is set to launch its revamped digital offering All 4 next week (30 March), in a move which will make Channel Four a "multi-channel network” Keith Underwood, director of strategy and technology at Channel 4, told The Drum.

Electoral Commission General Election Gogglebox

Content created with:

More from Electoral Commission

View all