The Drum Awards Festival - Extended Deadline

-d -h -min -sec

Online Media

The Drum Online Media Awards new categories to celebrate breaking news story of the year and best media podcast


By The Drum Team, Editorial

February 23, 2015 | 2 min read

Journalist, television presenter, author and media commentator Ray Snoddy, former British Journalism Review editor Bill Hegarty and business journalist and media professor Mark McSherry are amongst the first judges to sign up for the The Drum Online Media Awards (OMAs) 2015.

Returning for a fifth year the OMAs recognise the boldest and most original purveyors of news and views from around the world.

Former Sunday Mail editor and founding chairman of the company that became the Carnyx Group Noel Young; editor, writer and interviewer with more than 30 years of experience, Chris Connelly; David Mill, MediaCo managing director; trade and consumer journalist who now works as an editorial consultant for a number of charities, Liz Vercoe and Eamonn Byrne make up the rest of the panel.

In addition to a world class judging panel, this year’s awards feature a number of new categories including Breaking News Story of the Year, Online Editorial Campaign of the Year and Best Media Podcast.

The entry deadline for the OMAs is Friday 13 March, with nominations to be revealed on Thursday 7 May. The winners will be announced on Wednesday 10 June at a black tie event at Marriott Grosvenor Square, London.

Sponsors of this year’s event are iomart, the National Union of Journalists (NUJ), Press Gazette, Press Association and the British Journalism Review.

For information on the judges, categories, how to enter and more visit the The Drum Online Media Awards website.

Online Media

More from Online Media

View all


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +