VisitScotland Radio Advertising British Heart Foundation

Media, marketing and creative luminaries recgonised in Queen’s New Year’s Honours list


By Seb Joseph, News editor

December 31, 2014 | 5 min read

The Radio Advertising Bureau's (RAB) planning director Mark Barber is among one of many media, marketing and creative professionals selected for the 2015 New Years Honours list.


The RAB 14-year veteran has been awarded an MBE in the annual lineup for his services to commercial radio.

During his time at the organisation, Barber is credited for building the radioGAUGUE research project to address calls for greater accountability and creativity from radio advertisers. He also played a key role in steering the organisation’s investigation into how radio adverts influence online purchases as well as assessed the value of radio in today’s media mix through the “ROI Multiplier” study.

Siobhan Kenny, CEO of RadioCentre, which runs the RAB, said: "This is a well-deserved recognition of Mark's outstanding contribution to the radio industry. He is responsible for several ground-breaking pieces of research into the compelling power of the medium of radio, making it difficult for advertisers to ignore its impressive connection with its audience and its pretty amazing return on investment. This award is a testament to Mark and the whole RAB team."

Fellow members of the creative industries such as fomer Dragon's Den star James Caan and chairman of Visit Scotland Michael Brian Cantlay join Barber on this year’s list.

For a full run-down on the media, marketing and creative luminaries recgonised in Queen’s New Year’s Honours list see below:


Miss Stephanie Gail Greengross. Director Strategic Communications, bBusiness in the Community.


Dr Edward William Perkins. Formerly Communications secretary to The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge and Prince Henry of Wales.

Miss Laura Jane Gibson. Head of Digital Engagement for Royal Communications Royal Household.


James Caan. Founder and chairman Start Up Loan Company. For services to Entrepreneurship and charitable services through the James Caan Foundation. (London)

Mrs Amanda Elizabeth Chessell. Software Engineer, IBM. For services to Engineering. (Alton, Hampshire)

Alan Davey. Chief executive Arts Council England. For services to the Arts. (London)

Ms Sandra Dawe, MBE. Formerly chief executive, VisitBritain. For services to the Tourism Industry. (London)

Ms Judith Pamela Kelly, OBE. Artistic director, Southbank Centre. For services to the Arts. (London)

Roger Wright. Chief executive Aldeburgh Music, and lately director, BBC Proms and Controller, BBC Radio 3. For services to Music. (Snape, Suffolk)

Anthony Olusola Ademola Ageh. Controller of Archive Development BBC. For services to Digital Media. (London)

Michael Brian Cantlay. Chairman Visit Scotland. For services to the Tourism and Hospitality Industry in Scotland. (Callander, Perth and Kinross)

Ms Alison Fryatt. Formerly head of Health and Safety Sponsorship Team. For public service. (London)

Miss Lynne Kilpatrick. Head of Video Games Department for Culture, Media and Sport. For services to the Video Games Industry. (London)

Ms Susan Langley. For services to Women in Business. (Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire)

Ms Faith Liddell. Director Festivals Edinburgh. For services to the Arts. (Edinburgh)

Robert Joseph McLoughlin. For services to Broadcasting in the North West. (Hale, Greater Manchester)

John Leslie Newbigin. Chair Creative England. For services to the Creative Industries and the Arts. (London)


Betty McBride, former Director of Policy and Communications for The British Heart Foundation, for services to cardiovascular healthcare. (East Sussex)

Hasan Bakhshi. Director Creative Economy in Policy and Research, Nesta. For services to the Creative Industries. (London)

Mark Barber. Planning director Radio Advertising Bureau. For services to Commercial Radio. (London)

Ahmed Bashir. Head Operations and Finance Business Partner, Marketing, UK Trade and Investment. For services to Equality in the Public Sector.

Miss Dianne Cynthia Gibbons. Journalist, The Sentinel. For services to Journalism in North Staffordshire. (Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire)

Miss Maryanne Hodgkinson. Head of Arts Media and Business Administration, Derwen College. For services to Further Education for Adults with Learning Difficulties. (Buckley, Clwyd)

Richard Moross. Chief executive Officer and Founder For services to Entrepreneurship. (London)

Mizan Rahman Syed. For services to Government Digital Communication. (London)

View the start of The Drum’s own New Year’s Honours list.

VisitScotland Radio Advertising British Heart Foundation

More from VisitScotland

View all


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +