CIPR names Sarah Pinch president of its board of directors for 2015 as full line-up announced

The CIPR has revealed its board of directors for 2015, with Sarah Pinch, founder of Pinch Point Communications, named president.

The 2015 board is composed of five women and five men, with all taking up their roles on 1 January 2015.

Four honorary officers are directly elected by the entire membership, four further directors are elected by the CIPR Council and two are nominees of the president, co-opted by the elected board members.

As well as Pinch, 2014 president Stephen Waddington, digital and social media director at Ketchum Europe, will sit on the board. He will lead on strengthening links with academia and the development of global professional standards.

Pinch said: “I am proud to serve the membership of the Institute as President in 2015. The new board of directors is drawn from a broad range of professional backgrounds. We are also represented equally by men and by women. We will build on the work led in 2014 by president Stephen Waddington and the new CIPR chief executive, Alastair McCapra.

"Our ambitions for 2015 are to make membership more meaningful to clients and employers, for the CIPR to stand up for a profession confident in its high standards and able to demonstrate its value, and for the Code of Conduct and the CIPR’s CPD system to be positioned as assets that build trust in our practice, reaching audiences beyond the industry.”

The pair will be joined by president elect Rob Brown, a founding director at Rule 5. Brown will lead on diversity initiatives.

Grant Thoms, head of strategy and policy at Ingeus, joins the board as honorary treasurer.

Jason MacKenzie, managing director of Liquid, will be chair of the professional practice committee, while Lindsey Collumbell, owner of Bojangles Communications has been named chair of the professional development and membership committee and Matt Appleby, managing director at Golley Slater PR in Cardiff will take up the role of chair of the policy and campaigns committee.

Eva Maclaine, owner of Maclaine Communications, and Laura Sutherland, managing director of Aura PR, have also joined the board.