Read our new manifesto

Netflix and Marvel announce original content deal, launching four superhero shows in 2015

The four Marvel shows will debut on Netflix in 2015

Netflix has inked a deal with Marvel to develop four original series for the internet streaming service.

Marvel will now develop four live-action, 13-episode series which will begin streaming from 2015.

The new series’ begin with ‘Daredevil’ followed by ‘Jessica Jones’, ‘Iron Fist’ and ‘Luke Cage’, concluding with the miniseries ‘The Defenders’. A team that in the Marvel comic book universe has included the Hulk, the Silver Surfer, Dr. Strange, and the Sub Mariner, with Neflix revealing ‘The Defenders’ to be a “team of self-sacrificing, heroic characters.”

“This deal is unparalleled in its scope and size, and reinforces our commitment to deliver Marvel's brand, content, and characters across all platforms of storytelling," Marvel Entertainment president Alan Fine said.

“Netflix offers an incredible platform for the kind of rich storytelling that is Marvel's specialty. This serialised epic expands the narrative possibilities of on-demand television and gives fans the flexibility to immerse themselves how and when they want in what's sure to be a thrilling and engaging adventure.”

Last year, Neflix acquired the paid-TV rights to Marvel parent company Walt Disney Studios film releases from 2016.

Join us, it's free.

Become a member to get access to:

  • Exclusive Content
  • Daily and specialised newsletters
  • Research and analysis