The Drum Awards Festival - Official Deadline

-d -h -min -sec

Communications Iomart

The Online Media Awards 2013 launches with seven new categories


By Jennifer Faull, Deputy Editor

March 22, 2013 | 2 min read

The Online Media Awards, sponsored by iomart Hosting and the IE School of Communication, has opened for entry for another year, aiming to find the best application of talent and technology online.

Now in their third year, seven new categories have been included in the awards to recognise journalism in various sectors as well as individuals.

New categories added include; best app for smart phone or tablet, best freelance writer, best photographer, best lifestyle / leisure news site, best business / finance news site, best health / education news site and outstanding digital team of the year, in association with the British Journalism Review.

Last year’s winners included some of the world's leading websites, such as The Guardian, Huffington Post, Mail Online, BBC, Sunday Times, Economist, Channel 4 News as well as the Nursing Times, Mindful Money, Red Online and the Belfast Telegraph.

Online Media Awards founder Gordon Young commented on the scheme: "The Online Media Awards have very quickly become established among the world’s top online media owners and editors as an important benchmark for the work that they are doing to build strong online brands.

“Being the only awards scheme that focus solely on rewarding the online teams, this event is extremely important in giving the digital teams and individuals the credit they so richly deserve.”

More information on the awards and how to enter can be found on the dedicated website. The deadline for entries is Wednesday 10 April.

The Online Media Awards will be supported by supported by the NUJ and Society of Editors.

Communications Iomart

More from Communications

View all


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +