The Drum Awards Festival - Extended Deadline

-d -h -min -sec

The Drum Awards Capital FM Take That

Take That and Katherine Jenkins inducted into Commercial Radio Top 40 at 2012 Arquiva Commercial Radio Awards


By The Drum Team, Editorial

July 5, 2012 | 3 min read

The 2012 Arquiva Commercial Radio Awards has inducted Take That as its first member of the Commercial Radio Top 40 role of honour.

The list of 40 legends, a role honour of 40 artists, bands, moguls, producers and DJs who have influenced commercial radio, will celebrate the 40th anniversary of commercial radio next year, with a final top 40 list to be revealed then.

Mark Owen accepted the inaugural award on behalf of Take That, included as one of the most successful boy bands ever produced by the UK.

Classical singer Katherine Jenkins was the second to be inducted, having been recognised for changing the perception of classical music, it was explained.

Meanwhile, awards were handed out to Absolut Radio, which picked up Station of the Year, and Global scooped eight awards, including National Sales Team of the Year, Best Branded Content for Arla Starbuck’s Frappuccina and Most Effective Campaign for the Heart & More Th>n campaign.

The full list of award winners can be viewed below:

Presenter of the Year (under 1 Million TSA)

Trevor Marshall 106 JACKfm Oxfordshire

Presenter of the Year (over 1 Million TSA)

Danny Wallace XFM

Programmer of the Year (sponsored by RCS)

James Brownlow 95.8 Capital FM

Newcomer(s) of the Year (sponsored by Skillset)

Emma Barnett LBC 97.3

Journalist or News Team of the Year (Ali Booker Memorial Award)

Radio Aire News Radio Aire

Station of the Year (

Isle of Wight Radio

Station of the Year (300,000 to 1M TSA)

106 JACKfm Oxfordshire

Station of the Year (Over 1 Million TSA)

Absolute Radio

Breakfast Show of the Year (under 1 Million TSA)

The Bay Breakfast with Danny Matthews The Bay

Breakfast Show of the Year (over 1 Million TSA)

Real Radio Breakfast with Ewen & Cat Real Radio Scotland

Feature(s) of the Year

Ronnie Wood - The Guests Absolute Radio

Specialist Programme of the Year

The Ronnie Wood Show Absolute Radio

Social Action Initiative

Cocaine Unwrapped Real Radio North West

Station Imaging Award

106 JACKfm Oxfordshire

Marketing Award (sponsored by Get Me Media)

Touch FM - Pride of Stratford Awards 2012

Radio Station Event of the Year

Capital’s Jingle Bell Ball

Local Sales Team of the Year (sponsored by NRS Media)

Gem 106

National Sales Team of the Year

Global Radio

Best Branded Content

Arla Starbuck’s Frappuccino and Capital FM Summertime Ball Carat / Capital FM Carat / Global

Best Creative Campaign

Honda - Do You Believe In The Power of Dreams? Wieden + Kennedy, London

Most Effective Campaign

Heart & More Th>n 2011 Heart Global / Mediavest

Advertiser of the Year


Media Agency of the Year


PPL Most Played


PPL Breakthrough

Jessie J

Lifetime Achievement

John Pickford Key 103

RadioCentre Chairman’s Award

Jay Crawford Real Radio Scotland

Gold Award

Classic FM

The Drum Awards Capital FM Take That

More from The Drum Awards

View all


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +