The Drum Awards for Marketing Entry Deadline

-d -h -min -sec

BBC London 2012 editor joins Online Media Awards judging panel as entry deadline looms


By The Drum Team | Editorial

March 22, 2012 | 3 min read

BBC London 2012 editor Mark Coyle is among a host of high-profile journalists to join the judging panel for the Online Media Awards.

Supported by the Society of Editors, Press Association, NUJ and Hold the Front Page, the awards will recognise the best talent and technology in online journalism.

The judging panel will review entries into 17 categories including Online Editor of the Year, Best Site for news-led Journalism and Best Campaigning/Investigative Journalism.

Media owners, publishers and editors can submit their entries until midnight tomorrow (23 March) at

The new additions to the judging panel are:

Mark Coyle, Editor of BBC London 2012 who is leading the editorial development, design, production and management of non-sport Olympic content, including the Olympic torch relay and London Festival 2012

Liz Vercoe, the former Deputy Editor of the Radio Times

Maria Eftimiades, the former New York Bureau Chief at People magazine

Mark McSherry, former editor/writer for Reuters, South China Morning Post, Bloomberg, Scotsman Publications, Sunday Times Scotland, Glasgow's Sunday Herald and The New Zealand Herald

Maggie Hall, former editor/writer for Daily Mirror, for the News of the World, Today, the Sunday Mail and in the US, the Enquirer, the Globe and People magazine

Matt Storin, former editor of the Boston Globe and the Chicago Sun-Times

Bill Hagerty, former writer and editor of the Daily Mirror, the Sunday Mirror and the People

Elaine Whitfield Sharp, journalist and lawyer who founded Michigan Lawyers Weekly, Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly and Lawyers’ Weekly USA

They join a judging panel that already includes:

Nick Blunden, Global Managing Director and Publisher, The Economist online

Nick Wrenn, VP, CNN International Digital Service

Noel Young, Owner,

David Mill, former editor Online Editor of the Daily Record and Sunday Mail

Mark Tipper, Creative Director at Fortune Cookie

Jim Chisholm, Advisor to many of the World's leading news publishing organisations

David Banks, Columnist for Press Gazette, Newcastle Journal; editor of The Clarion

Paul Linford, Publisher and Editor, HoldtheFrontPage

Ron Laytner, Managing Editor at Editinternational

For further information and to register for the awards go to or contact Katy Thomson at


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +