The Drum Awards Festival - Official Deadline

-d -h -min -sec


The Royal Television Society Scotland Student Awards winners for 2012 announced


By The Drum Team, Editorial

February 8, 2012 | 2 min read

The Royal Television Society Scotland Student Awards (RTS) saw awards handed to students from Edinburgh College of Art (ECA), the University of Stirling and the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama (RSAMD).

William Anderson from ECA picked up the Animation Award for his film ‘The Making of Longbird’ while the Factual prize was awarded to ‘A Bunch of Gentlemen’ by Louis Begbie and her team from the University of Stirling.

The Fiction section was won by ‘My First Spellbook’ by Gavin Laing.

Judging the awards were drama producer Barbara McKissack and BBC Scotland executive producer of Children’s programmes, Yvonne Jennings.

RTS Scotland chair, Henry Eagles, said, “Some of the work currently coming out of Scotland’s colleges and universities is remarkable. These students have exceptional skills and they are undoubtedly the top programme makers of the future.”


More from Television

View all


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +