The Drum Awards Festival - Official Deadline

-d -h -min -sec

Ofcom Local TV

Ofcom proposes a minimum of 20 local TV sites


By Stephen Lepitak, -

December 13, 2011 | 1 min read

Ofcom will today propose a minimum of 20 local television sites across the UK as a result of the Government’s plan for the creation of a local television network.

The sites selected for local TV are Belfast, Birmingham, Brighton & Hove, Bristol, Cardiff, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Grimsby, Leeds, Liverpool, London, Manchester, Newcastle, Norwich, Nottingham, Oxford, Plymouth, Preston, Southampton and Swansea.

As well as these, Ofcom has proposed that multiplex licence applicants should be in areas where there is an interested local service operator, highlighting Aberdeen, Ayr, Basingstoke, Cambridge, Derry/Londonderry, Dundee, Guildford, Maidstone, Middlesbrough, Mold, Sheffield, Stoke on Trent, Stratford upon Avon and York as suitable areas.

Futher details of Ofcom’s proposals will be set out in a consultation later in December.

Ofcom Local TV

More from Ofcom

View all


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +