The Drum Awards Festival - Official Deadline

-d -h -min -sec

The Drum Awards Sky News The Guardian

The Guardian's Nick Davies named Journalist of the Year at Foreign Press Association


By The Drum Team, Editorial

November 23, 2011 | 3 min read

Nick Davies from The Guardian has been named as Journalist of the Year, as the winners of the Foreign Press Associations Media Awards have been announced.

The awards were handed out at the Park Lane Hotel in Piccadilly last night, with Sky News picking up two awards with TV News Story of the Year for ‘The Battle or Zawiyah’ and for its iPad app, which launched in March, picking up the Web Innovation Award

The full list of winners can be viewed below:

FPA Awards Winners 2011

FPA Member – Royal Wedding Story

Susan Ormiston, Erin Boudreau and Richard Devey, Protecting Kate, CBC News

FPA Member – Other

Cam Simpson, Shooting Gold Diggers at African Mine Seen Amid Record Prices, Bloomberg

TV News Story

Alex Crawford, Martin Smith and Tim Miller, The Battle for Zawiyah, Sky News

Print and Web News

Nick Davies and Amelia Hill, News of the World hacked Millie Dowler’s phone during police hunt, The Guardian


Kelly Carr and Brian Grow, A Little House of Secrets on the Great Plains, Reuters


Mike Thomson and Lewis James, In the Wake of the LRA, Today, BBC Radio 4

Print and Web Feature

David James Smith, And They Leapt into the Unknown, The Sunday Times Magazine

TV Feature/Documentary

May Ying Welsh, Tuki Laumea and Jon Blair, Bahrain - Shouting in the Dark, Al Jazeera English


Jack Shenker, Exodus, Prospect

Web Innovation

Sky News, Sky News for iPad


Ed Caesar, The Match They Thought Could Never End, GQ


Colin Barraclough, Northwest Passage, Conde Nast Traveler (US)

Arts and Culture

Tim Adams, Life After Suicide, The Observer

Journalist of the Year (Winner of Winners)

Nick Davies, The Guardian

The Drum Awards Sky News The Guardian

More from The Drum Awards

View all


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +