Cream Awards 2006

By The Drum, Administrator

November 9, 2006 | 3 min read

This year’s Cream Awards may have taken place at a different venue, but there was no change in the soaring standards of work being celebrated. Agencies from the Midlands, East, South West and Wales congregated at Birmingham’s Burlington Hotel to receive recognition for their superbly crafted design and advertising work from the last twelve months.

The panel of judges, which was chaired by Andrew Lindsay of The Union, consisted of Paul Sudron from Elmwood, Bill Green of Funnel, Dave Bell of Poulters, Graham Scott of Nevis and Frame’s Angus Walker.

The judges decided that work produced by Bristol-based Different Kettle for Amnesty International was deserving of the Grand Prix. The Teleshop campaign won three Golds for Art Direction, Best Use of Photography and Direct Mail, as well as a Silver in the Copywriting category.

The Chairman’s Award was also won by a Bristol-based agency. Taxi Studio collected the award after winning a Gold award in the packaging category for its designs for Somerfield’s Pickles brand.

Meanwhile, Cream stalwart Big Communications won the most awards on the night, landing four Golds, three Silvers and a Bronze for work created for WKD and Loake. The Leicester-based agency’s four Golds came in the 48 or 96 Sheet Poster, Outdoor Campaign, TV Commercial and Unusual Size or Special Build categories.

Meriden-based Rees Bradley Hepburn picked up three Silvers and a Bronze on the night, as well as a Gold for its Eveden campaign in the Art Direction field. Bray Leino, based in Bristol and Barnstable, was also celebrating after winning one Gold, two Silvers and a Bronze. The agency’s Gold award came in the Consumer Press Ad category for its Foods For Spain ‘Truck’ execution.

Also winning Golds were Connect in Wolverhampton and Southampton-based Five by Five. Connect took its shiny accolade home for its Best Use of Space for Calor, while Five by Five won a top gong for a viral campaign it delivered for Philips amBX.

Other winners on the night included Birmingham’s McCann Erickson Communications House, Palmer Hargreaves Wallis Tomlinson, Arthur Steen Horne Adams, BMB Ltd, Hello, Parenthesis and Ware Anthony Rust.

A full rundown of the results can be found on The Drum’s website:

The awards were sponsored by Birmingham & Solihull Business Link, in association with Plus Design Expo, The Birmingham Post, SMP Group Ltd and Stephens & George Print Group. This year’s identity was designed by Big Communications and Deft Photography.


Industry insights

View all
Add your own content +