Client: Nike
Date: Mar 2020
Your Vote
4/5
Overall Rating
5/5
Opps, please vote again
3 votes

Nike’s latest spot, ‘From the Grounds Up’ tells the moving story of Hackney Wick FC founder, Bobby Kasanga.

Kasanga founded Hackney Wick FC in 2015 as a way of tackling gang violence through football. As a child, he had represented his county at football, but after finding himself involved in a gang he spent eight years in prison.

He founded the football club four years ago, upon release, with a mission to inspire the young people on his childhood estate to channel their energy into the sport.

The ad stars Kasanga himself, as well as the club’s players and fans, and depicts the positive impact Hackney Wick FC has had on the local community.

Credits

Director: Jess Kohl @jess.kohl

Producer: Nikola Vasakova @nikolavasakova

Executive producer: Juliette Larthe @juliette_larthe

Production company: Girls in Film @girlsinfilm_gif & PRETTYBIRD @prettybirdpic

1st AD: Eno Enefiok @enoleawesome

DOP: Steve Annis @steveannisdop

Steadicam: James Burgess @jamesburgess3

Focus Puller: Eira Wyn Jones @caws_a_cracyrs

2nd AC: Kairo Jones @kairofilm

Cam Trainee: Joe Medlock @joemedlock

Gaffer: Alex Gibbon

Grip: Aaron Porter @aa.ron.porter

Sound: Bridgitte Bradshaw

DIT: Ashley Hicks @i.love.hue

Runner/drivers: Ben Cole @benxcole

Sophie Nejad @sophienejad

Photographer: Blue Laybourne @bluelaybourne

Driver: Anthony Bugge

Editor: Gary Forrester @thequarryedit

Online editor: Kit Harwood

Grade: Simon Bourne @framestore

Music: Roger Goula @mannersmcdade

Additional cinematography: Thomas Hole @thomas_.hole

Camera assistant: Jerome James King @jeromejamesking

DIT: Ellie Bright

Additional sound: Chi Limpiroj @chi_limpiroj

Runner / Driver: Josh Govett