| posted by

Mobile must become a priority for retailers says Swrve

With the majority of online shopping now taking place on mobile handsets, providing “a positive first-screen customer experience” is the biggest challenge facing retailers over the next five years, according to mobile marketing specialists Swrve.

Speaking prior to an upcoming Swrve/Forrester webinar on the subject – ‘Mobile is The New Retail’, taking place on 9 March - Christopher S. Dean, chief executive officer of Swrve, said: “In its latest holiday retail benchmark analysis, IBM reported that traffic originating from smartphones surpassed tablets and desktops, accounting for more than 53 per cent of all online traffic.

“While mobile-first browsing and mobile shopping turned out to be a key growth driver, many retailers did not offer a mobile app and a mobile experience that today’s consumers have come to expect. In a world that increasingly revolves around a positive first-screen customer experience, marketers need to ensure they’re using the optimal technology that makes these mobile experiences absolutely seamless, frictionless and ultimately personal.”

Dean added: “For retailers, it’s time to start understanding that mobile represents a real opportunity to build competitive advantage. Our upcoming webinar will focus on the state of the mobile in retail and offer advice on how retailers can adapt to the mobile first phenomenon and succeed. Retailers' engagement strategies need to keep up with the new customer behavior, but many don’t know where to begin. The webinar aims to be a launch pad for retailers keen to tackle the mobile challenge sooner rather than later.”

Sucharita Mulpuru, vice president and principal analyst at Forrester, and Martin Doettling, chief marketing officer at Swrve, will co-host the ‘Mobile is The New Retail’ webinar on Wednesday 9 March at 5:00pm GMT/12:00pm EST/9:00am PDT. Those interested can register for free here.

Featured by The Drum