50 of the UK's best creative freelancers

Recommended freelancers: experts in their fields

With agencies and brands looking to become ever more streamlined and sustainable, freelancers inevitably find their expertise increasingly called upon. But how do you go about finding a competent copywriter, or a decent designer for that matter? How do you know when a social media expert is worth their salt and a photographer fit for action? Well, you ask their clients. And that's exactly what we did. The Drum surveyed its agency and client-side readers to find out what freelancers they use and who they would recommend. So, here is our list of the 50 best creative freelancers around (well 48 freelancers and one freelance creative team).

COPY

Alan Black (Blackad)

Web copywriting

Glasgow

www.blackad.co.uk

copywriter@blackad.co.uk

Larner Caleb

Concepts, creative direction/strategy, copywriting, branding

Leeds

www.larnercaleb.com

mail@larnercaleb.com

Nick Carter

Conceptual copywriting

Birmingham

www.behance.net/nickcarterfreelance

nickcarterfreelance@googlemail.com

Martin Cross

Copywriting and creative thinking

Glasgow

www.martcross.com

martcross@me.com

Laura Glover

Copywriting

London

www.mangahead.co.uk

laura1083@hotmail.com

Leif Kendall

Web copywriting

Brighton and London

www.kendallcopywriting.co.uk

leif@kendallcopywriting.co.uk

Pete Matthews

Copywriting

London

www.joinedupwriter.co.uk

pete@joinedupwriter.co.uk

Chris Miller

Copywriting

The North

www.ccmiller.cc

cc@ccmiller.cc

Paul Readman

Copywriting

Dunbar

www.seaglass.uk.com

paul@seaglass.uk.com

Rae Stones

Copywriting

London

www.raestones.com

raestones@hotmail.co.uk

Dean Turney

Copywriting

London

www.londoncopywriter.co.uk

dean@londoncopywriter.co.uk

Joanne Wilson

Copywriting

Lincoln

www.fillthegapcopywriting.co.uk

joanne@fillthegapmarketing.co.uk

CREATIVE/ARTWORK/DIGITAL DESIGN

David Airey

Brand identity design

Northern Ireland

www.davidairey.com

design@davidairey.com

Joe Bedington

Online advertising

Norwich

www.fishdna.co.uk

joe@fishdna.co.uk

David Bonas

Digital design, graphic design, illustration, animation

London

www.davidbonas.com

info@davidbonas.com

Molly Cockcroft

Graphic design

Manchester

www.missmoco.co.uk

ello@missmoco.co.uk

Matt Connors-Jones

Art direction and design

South West, Midlands and London

www.gocreatestudios.com

mattconnorsjones@gmail.com

Michael Craven and Gary Delaporte

Effective ideas

Global

www.craven-delaporte.blogspot.com

craven.delaporte@gmail.com

Darryl Donnelly

Digital design

Norwich

www.darryldonnelly.co.uk

info@darryldonnelly.co.uk

Rob Garner

Graphic design and art direction

Nottingham and London

www.iamrobgarner.co.uk

howdy@iamrobgarner.co.uk

James Gregory

Art direction and graphic design

Cheltenham

www.gdesign-artdirection.co.uk

gdesign.artdirection@mac.com

Dan Lane

User interface design

Cheltenham

www.studiounkle.co.uk

dan@studiounkle.co.uk

Kristian Moors

Branding

Sheffield

www.moorscreative.com

kristian@moorscreative.com

Miles Newlyn

Typographer

London

www.newlyn.com

contact@newlyn.com

Jonny Norridge

Graphic design and web/interactive

Nottingham

www.newpollution.co.uk

jonny@newpollution.co.uk

Pearse O'Halloran (Bean There Done That)

Creative branding

Glasgow

www.btdt.co.uk

pearse@btdt.co.uk

Tom Stutt

Graphic and web design

Bristol

www.tomstuttdesign.co.uk

info@tomstuttdesign.co.uk

Gayle Sugden

Graphic design

Leeds

www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=164733041

Tom Ward

Advertising, marketing, branding

Yorkshire

www.andthiscreative.com

Tl.ward.design@gmail.com

Andrew Warwick

Art direction: interactive, animation, branding

Derby

www.warwicka.co.uk

a@warwicka.co.uk

Joe Whittaker

Design

Sheffield

www.joewhittaker.com

hello@joewhittaker.com

Sara Wilson

Typography based design

Manchester

www.sarawilsoncreative.co.uk

sara@sarawilsoncreative.co.uk

PR/SOCIAL MEDIA

Jillian Alexander

Technology PR

London

www.alexander-pr.co.uk

jillian@alexander-pr.co.uk

Alison Battisby

Social Media

London

www.alisonbattisby.co.uk

me@alisonbattisby.co.uk

Helen Beckett

PR

London and Kent

www.illuminatecommunications.co.uk

helen@illuminatecomms.com

Agatha Chapman-Poole

PR

North West

www.chapmanpoole.co.uk

agatha@chapmanpoole.co.uk

Paul Kirby

PR and social media

Midlands

www.octopuspr.co.uk

paul@octopuspr.co.uk

Ross McCulloch (Third Sector Lab & Be Good Be Social)

Social media strategy for third sector organisations

Glasgow

www.rossmcculloch.com

ross@thirdsectorlab.co.uk

DIGITAL

Ryan Foster

eCommerce and Saas

North East

www.ryanfosterdesign.com

hello@ryanfosterdesign.com

Chris Garrett

Web and mobile design/development

Manchester

www.abstraktion.co.uk

chris@abstraktion.co.uk

Jonathan Hall

Web designer

East Sussex

www.jonathan-hall.com

Darren Langley

Web design

Birmingham

www.darrenlangley.com

darren@darrenlangley.com

James Sui

HTML/CSS, jQuery, Wordpress

Manchester

www.jamessui.com/

james@jamessui.com

PHOTOGRAPHY

Monty Rakusen

Photographer

Yorkshire

www.rakusen.co.uk

info@rakusen.co.uk

Trevor Smeaton

photographer

East Sussex

www.trevorsmeaton.com

tsmeaton@mac.com

Lenny Warren

Press & PR photography, video production, multimedia

Glasgow

www.warrenmedia.co.uk

lenny@warrenmedia.co.uk

Laurence Winram

Photographer

Edinburgh

www.lwinram.com

studio@lwinram.com

MARKETING/STRATEGY

Marge Ainsley

Marketing/social media/research

North West

www.margeainsley.co.uk

marge@margeainsley.co.uk

Luan Wise

Direct and digital marketing

Cheltenham

www.luanwise.co.uk

sayhello@luanwise.co.uk

Search The Drum Jobs

Explore the best jobs in Marketing and Media industries
View all open jobs

Staff Writer

The Drum is a global media platform and the biggest marketing website in Europe. We produce The Drum magazine, 30 awards and events and manage The Drum Network which aims to make independently minded agencies more successful. We also help brands find the right agencies to work with through the Recommended Agency Register (RAR).

All by Staff