1 December 2011 - 11:07am | posted by | 0 comments

Which journo is most likely to tell you to sling your hook? CRAPPs 2011 shortlists announced

Which journos will get the CRAPPs this year?Which journos will get the CRAPPs this year?

Which journalists will get the CRAPPs this year? The shortlists have today been announced for the awards scheme which celebrates the "special" (and sometimes frosty) relationship between hacks and PRs.

The Communicative Relations Awards from PR Professionals feature categories ranging from 'most likely to tell you to sling your hook' to the 'least twattish Twitterer'.

The light-hearted awards were set up last year by PR agency 10 Yetis in association with DWPub. Rich Leigh, account director at 10 Yetis, said: "Our intention has always been to highlight the relationship between the PR industry and journalists.

"I’m under no illusion; one tongue-in-cheek month-long award scheme isn’t going to improve anything on a wider scale, but to hear that the ‘mardy’ – the Guardian’s words, not mine! - Charles Arthur called the winner of our first limited edition ‘Die, PR, Die, I survived a Charles Arthur sell-in’ t-shirt to congratulate her makes us feel like we’re bringing the two camps together at least a little bit in the run-up to Christmas.”

You can see the full list of finalists below. Voting is open at http://www.thecrapps.com/ until 14 December, with the 'lucky' winners finding out their fate on 15 December.

1. The journalist that makes you feel warm and furry on the inside

• Adrian Bridgwater – freelance
• Amy Duncan – Metro
• Becca Caddy – Shiny Shiny
• Hilary Osborne – The Guardian
• Jane Hamilton – The Sun
• Matt Warman – The Daily Telegraph
• Olivia Solon – Wired
• Stuart Dredge – Freelance
• Vicki Chowney – Econsultancy
• Vicky Woolaston – WebUser

2. The ‘most likely to tell you to sling your hook’ award

• Alan Burkitt-Gray – Global Telecoms Business
• Charles Arthur – The Guardian
• Fiona Harvey – The Guardian
• Gary Flood – Freelance
• Geoff Ho – Sunday Express
• Joe McGrath – Insolvency Today
• Lisa Salmon – Press Association
• Sean Poulter – Daily Mail
• Pete Swabey – Information Age
• Ruki Sayid – Daily Mirror

3. The ‘best PR blogger’ award

• Adam Vincenzini – COMMS Corner
• Ben Cotton – Social Web Thing
• Brian Solis – briansolis.com
• Drew Benvie – Drew B’s take on tech PR
• Jon Silk – PRGeek.net
• Max Tatton-Brown – MaxTB.com
• Stephen Waddington – Wadds’ PR and Social Media blog
• Steve Earl – Earlin’ PR abuse
• Stuart Bruce – stuartbruce.biz
• Will Sturgeon – The Media Blog

4. Least twattish Twitterer – the must follow journo

• Adrian Bridgwater – Freelance - @abridgwater
• Caitlin Moran – The Times - @caitlinmoran
• Fleet Street Fox – Unknown – @fleetstreetfox
• Josh Halliday – The Guardian - @joshhalliday
• Harry Wallop – The Daily Telegraph – @hwallop
• India Knight – The Sunday Times - @indiaknight
• Neal Mann – Sky News - @fieldproducer
• Olivia Solon – Wired - @olivia_solon
• Sally Whittle – Freelance - @swhittle
• Tom Wiggins – Stuff - @wiggowiggo

5. Least twattish Twitterer – the must follow PR

• Andrew Bloch – Frank PR - @andrewbloch
• Andrew Smith – Escherman - @andismit
• Beth Murray – Lansons - @bmbm
• Camilla Brown – Manifest Communications - @girlterate
• Dan Bulteel – Hill and Knowlton - @danbulteel
• Neville Hobson – Freelance - @jangles
• Rupert Walker – Immediate Future - @rupinjapan
• Sherrilynne Starkie – Strive PR - @sherrilynne
• Stephen Waddington – Speed Communications - @wadds
• Steven Davies – Freelance - @stedavies

6. Journalist you'd most like to bring to the dark side (employ as a PR)

• Amy Duncan – The Metro
• Dave Masters – The Sun
• Emma Barnett – The Daily Telegraph
• Harry Wallop – The Daily Telegraph
• Jack Schofield – Freelance
• Jane Hamilton – The Sun
• Mark Dye - Freelance
• Stuart Miles – Pocket-lint
• Tim Weber – BBC
• Verity Burns – MSN

7. Most approachable daily national newspaper

• The Daily Express
• The Daily Mail
• The Daily Mirror
• The Daily Telegraph
• The Daily Star
• The Financial Times
• The Guardian
• The Independent
• The Metro
• The Sun

Be the first to comment on this article: sign in or register.

Latest Projects from the Profile Hub

Cotswolds Distillery Inaugural Release

23/10/2014
The first ever Cotswolds Dry Gin from the first 10 runs at...

Jurlique's #AgelessBeauties Twitter Party Increases Sales!

22/10/2014
To celebrate Jurlique’s latest product range launch; Nutri-...

EMCAS

22/10/2014
OVERVIEW Financial mis-selling is an ever-growing issue –...

Visit Wales - creating romantic breaks

22/10/2014
Delivering 1000% increase in 'romantic' traffic Challenge...

Recruitment campaign

21/10/2014
Thermal Systems are an international client based in...