Chip Shop Awards name Alfredo Marcantonio as chair

Alfredo Marcantonio has been announced as the chairman of the Chip Shop Awards Judging panel.

Born in England but of Italian parentage, Alfredo Marcantonio began his advertising career as a client at Volkswagen. Inspired by David Abbott, the creative director of VW’s Agency DDB, he quit his job as UK Head of Advertising to become a copywriter.

In the mid 70's he joined Collett Dickenson Pearce, then regarded as one of the most creative agencies in the world and in 1981 he helped the agency's Frank Lowe and Geoff Howard-Spink to found Lowe Howard-Spink.

In 1987 he joined Wight Collins Rutherford Scott, which added his long name to its already lengthy title, but left when the agency was taken over by Eurocom. He then ran BBDO, until its merger with AMV reunited him with David Abbott and gave him the chance to return to his first love, writing ads.

By 1998 he was Vice Chairman of AMVBBDO in London and Creative Vice President of BBDO Milan and more recently became Creative Director of the Italian Office of Leagas Delaney.

As a writer and creative director Marc has been involved in the development of some of Britain's most successful advertising campaigns including Hamlet, Heineken, Stella Artois, BMW, BT and Carling Black Label.

He is co-author of 'Remember those great VW ads?' and was invited to contribute to 'The Copy Book', a highly regarded compilation that set out to showcase the work of the world's best copywriters. And in 2002 he took a year out to write “Well written and red”, a book that celebrated the 15th anniversary of the award-winning Economist poster campaign.

In 2003 he joined up with an ex-colleague to launch MPH, a consultancy that helps clients create and exploit successful advertising campaigns.

Marcantonio will be joined on the Chip Shop Awards judging panel by:

David Airey David Airey (UK)

Dave Waters Creative Watermill - London (UK)

Mike Durban Creative Director AMV BBDO (UK)

Simon Shaw Creative Director Navyblue (UK)

Adrian Burton Executive Creative Director Lambie - Nairn (UK)

Monica Moro Executive Creative Director McCann Erickson Madrid (Spain)

Laurence Quinn Creative Director JWT (UK)

Rick Kiesewetter Creative Director Saatchi X (UK)

Nigel Clifton Creative Director EHS4D. (UK)

Beto Nahmad Executive Creative Director Draftfcb (Spain)

Torsten Pollmann Creative Director Euro RSCG GmbH (Germany)

Matt Allen Senior Art Director The Red Brick Road (UK)

Entry to the Chip Shop Awards will remain open until 18 March. All entries are published on the site and can be voted for "Ad of The Week".

Enter at

Search The Drum Jobs

Explore the best jobs in Marketing and Media industries
View all open jobs